|Rule Submission Title||Clarify "Receiver" for purpose of "Incorrect Receiver"|
|USAP Board Vote||Failure Confirmed|
|USAP Rules Committee Vote||Failed|
|USAP Rules Committee Vote Reason||The current definition is adequate. Including a player's 'intent' would introduce ambiguity. The existing rule is consistent with rule change #1017.|
|Existing Rule #||3.A.29|
|Proposed Rule Change|
3.A.29. Receiver – The player who returns the serve. This player is typically positioned diagonally opposite the server with the intent to return the serve. Depending on the team’s score, the player who returns the serve may not be the correct receiver.
|Original Rule Text|
3.A.29. Receiver – The player who is positioned diagonally opposite the server to return the serve. Depending on the team’s score, the player who returns the serve may not be the correct receiver.
|Reasoning Behind Suggested Change|
The wording clarification addresses the ambiguity in the original text in that in a stack both receiving team players could be diagonally opposite the server.
|Rule Book Year||2024|
|Rule Change ID||1166|
|Date Created||May 8, 2023|
|View Comments||View Comments|