Rule Submission TitleAppeal to an opponent's partner when there is no referee
USAP Board VoteFailure Confirmed
USAP Rules Committee VoteFailed
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonGood sportsmanship includes respecting an opponent's call and not questioning or commenting on the call as set fort in Section 1 of the Rules. This change would move the game away from sportsmanship rather than toward it.
Existing Rule #6.D.8
Proposed Rule Change

In doubles play, if one player calls the ball “out” and the partner calls it “in,” then doubt exists and the team’s call will be “in.” Any player may appeal a call to the referee. If the referee did not see the ball, the ball is considered in. In a non-refereed game, an “out” call believed to be incorrect may be appealed to the partner of the individual making the call. If the partners disagree, then doubt exists and the team’s call will be “in”.

Original Rule Text

In doubles play, if one player calls the ball “out” and the partner calls it “in,” then doubt exists and the team’s call will be “in.” Any player may appeal a call to the referee. If the referee did not see the ball, the ball is considered in.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

Many recreational players are unaware of the ‘doubt’ component of the Code of Ethics.

 

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

I have seen this happen countless times, where an opponent makes an “out” call and his partner startles, obviously surprised at the call, but remains quiet. Upon questioning, he admits that he thought the ball was “in”, but says “I can’t overrule my partner”. Many recreational players think this to be the case. An appeal to the partner of the one making the call would allow a situation of doubt to be revealed and resolved justly.

Rule Book Year2024
Rule Change ID960
Date CreatedMarch 18, 2023
View Comments View Comments