Rule Submission TitleAllow team to cede a rally after overruling a line judges call to their detriment if they felt the shot was a clear winner and they had no play on the ball
USAP Board VotePassed
USAP Rules Committee VotePassed with modification
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonPlayers should have the option to grant the rally to their opponent rather than replay it when they know they would have lost the rally anyway. Modify the change by replacing 'wishes' to 'chooses', which is preferable rule language.
Existing Rule #13.E.5
Proposed Rule Change (edited)

13.E.4 Upon appeal, if a referee overrules a line judge’s “out” call as “in”, a replay will
occur, unless the team that benefitted from the referee’s call chooses to concede the
rally
.

13.E.5.   .  If a player disagrees with a line judges “out” call that benefited their team, the player may overrule the “out” call as “in” per rule 6.D.13.  A replay will occur, unless the team that made the call to their detriment chooses to concede the rally.

Proposed Rule Change

13.E.5.   .  If a player disagrees with a line judges “out” call that benefited their team, the player may overrule the “out” call as “in” per rule 6.D.13.  A replay will occur, unless the team that made the call to their detriment wishes to concede the rally.

Legislative format showing the changes to the original rule.

13.E.5.   .  If a player disagrees with a line judges “out” call that benefited their team, the player may overrule the “out” call as “in” per rule 6.D.13.  A replay will occur, unless the team that made the call to their detriment wishes to concede the rally.

Original Rule Text

Rule 13.E.5.  If a player disagrees with a line judges “out” call that benefited their team, the player may overrule the “out” call as “in” per rule 6.D.13.  A replay will occur.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

It has been a cause for frustration and conflict in more than one match I know about that the referee is by rule forced to replay a rally when a player overrules a line judges or referees "out" call call to their disadvantage.   The team gets upset and argues with the ref when he calls for a replay,  when they feel that they had no chance to return what was in their opinion a clear winner and they want to concede the rally.   It seems only fair and in the spirit of good sportsmanship to allow the player or team to concede the rally after making the call to their own detriment if they so choose.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

During a singles match with lines judges, Player A hits a hard cross court shot to the baseline corner away from Player B who is at the NVZ.  The line judge calls "out".  Lead Referee calls "Point".  Player B overrules the call and says the ball hit both lines in the corner for a clear winner.  The lead referee calls "Referee Error, replay".   Player B tells the lead referee that the ball was a clear winner and he wishes to concede the rally.  The lead referee says "by rule a team may concede a rally ended by a referee error to their detriment.  Point".

 

Rule Book Year2024
Rule Change ID891
Date CreatedMarch 7, 2023
View Comments View Comments