Rule Submission TitleRemove 'deliberately' from the wording of a carry fault.
USAP Board VotePassed
USAP Rules Committee VotePassed
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonFor the reasons indicated in the proposal.
Existing Rule #7.L
Proposed Rule Change (edited)

A fault (and resulting dead ball) will be declared for the following:

7.L. A player deliberately carrying or catching the ball on the paddle while performing the serve or during a rally.

Also revise Rule 11.A as follows:

11.A Double hits. Balls can be hit twice, but this must occur during an unintentional,a continuous, single-direction stroke by one player. If the stroke made while performing the serve or during a rally is deliberately not continuous, or not in a single direction, or the ball is struck by a second player, it is a fault.

REASON: This is consistent with the intent of the change to Rule 7.L which removes from the rules the implication that the referee must determine the player's intent in order to enforce a fault.

Proposed Rule Change

A fault (and resulting dead ball) will be declared for the following:

7.L. A player deliberately carrying or catching the ball on the paddle while performing the serve or during a rally.

Original Rule Text

A fault (and resulting dead ball) will be declared for the following:

7.L. A player deliberately carrying or catching the ball on the paddle while performing the serve or during a rally.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

The rule, as currently written has two decision elements associated with determining if the play was legal 1) was it a carry or catch with the paddle? and 2) was it deliberate?

The deliberate nature of the existing rule requires the referee to determine intent.  Referees are not in position to determine intent.

This change removes the decision element of was it a deliberate carry or catch with the paddle.  It really doesn't matter whether or not a catch or carry was deliberate.  It shouldn't happen in the course of legal play.  As revised, now all a referee needs to determine is whether or not the paddle carried or caught the ball.

Reason for change to 11.A: This is consistent with the intent of the change to Rule 7.L which removes from the rules the implication that the referee must determine the player's intent in order to enforce a fault.

 

Rule Book Year2024
Rule Change ID886
Date CreatedMarch 5, 2023
View Comments View Comments