Rule Submission TitleIncorrect cross references. Editorial change.
USAP Board VotePassed
USAP Rules Committee VotePassed
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonEditorial. This fixes an incorrect cross reference.
Existing Rule #13.C.2, 13.D.3.b, 13.E.5
Proposed Rule Change

13.C.2. If the players or line judges make the line calls and there is a disputed line call, the players may request that the referee determine the line call. If the referee cannot make the line call, the player’s or line judge’s call will remain. If doubles partners appeal a line call that they disagree on and the referee cannot make the call, the ball will be declared “in.” Note: A player may choose to overrule a line call to their disadvantage (See Rule 6.D.12).

13.D.3.b. Except for center service line calls, player’s line calls are not valid in matches with line judges, except to overrule a call to disadvantage their own team (See Rule 6.D.12). Players may appeal a line call made by the line judge to the referee. (See Rule 13.F.)

13.E.5. If a player disagrees with a line judge’s “out” call that benefited their team, the player may overrule the “out” call as “in” per rule 6.D.12. A replay will occur.

Original Rule Text

13.C.2. If the players or line judges make the line calls and there is a disputed line call, the players may request that the referee determine the line call. If the referee cannot make the line call, the player’s or line judge’s call will remain. If doubles partners appeal a line call that they disagree on and the referee cannot make the call, the ball will be declared “in.” Note: A player may choose to overrule a line call to their disadvantage (See Rule 6.D.13).

13.D.3.b. Except for center service line calls, player’s line calls are not valid in matches with line judges, except to overrule a call to disadvantage their own team (See Rule 6.D.13). Players may appeal a line call made by the line judge to the referee. (See Rule 13.F.)

13.E.5. If a player disagrees with a line judge’s “out” call that benefited their team, the player may overrule the “out” call as “in” per rule 6.D.13. A replay will occur.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

Insert the correct rule cross reference.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

N/A

Rule Book Year2024
Rule Change ID882
Date CreatedMarch 5, 2023
View Comments View Comments