Rule Submission TitleOverriding your own line call
USAP Board VotePassed
USAP Rules Committee VotePassed
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonFor the reasons indicated in the proposal.
Existing Rule #6.D.12
Proposed Rule Change

6.D.12. After the completion of a rally, players may overrule a partner’s line call, their own line call, an officiating team’s line call, or an opponent’s “in” call to their own disadvantage.

Original Rule Text

6.D.12. After the completion of a rally, players may overrule a partner’s line call, an officiating team’s line call, or an opponent’s “in” call to their own disadvantage.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

When we wrote Rule 6.D.12, this was an oversight.  It should always have read this way.  If I can overrule my partner's line call, I should also, in the spirit of sportsmanship, be able to overrule my own line call to my disadvantage.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

All

Rule Book Year2024
Rule Change ID881
Date CreatedMarch 5, 2023
View Comments View Comments