Rule Submission TitleWrong score called
USAP Board Voting StatusPassed
Existing Rule #4.K
Proposed Rule Change (edited)

If the wrong score is called, the referee or any player may stop play before the return of serve to correct the score. The rally shall be restarted with the correct score called.
After the return of serve, play shall continue to the end of the rally and the score correction made before the next serve.
After the return of serve, a player who stops play to identify or ask for a score correction will have committed a fault and shall lose the rally.
A player who stops play to identify or ask for a score correction when the score was correctly called will have committed a fault and shall lose the rally."

Proposed Rule Change

4.K. Wrong Score Called. If the server or referee calls the wrong score, play may be stopped before the return of serve to correct the score.

(Or whatever the rules said in 2020. I'm just preparing that we go back to that.)

Original Rule Text

4.K. Wrong Score Called. If the server or referee calls the wrong score, once the serve is made, play shall continue to the end of the rally and the correction made before the next serve. After the serve is made, a player who stops play based solely on an incorrect score call, will have committed a fault and shall lose the rally.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

Too many complaints about wrong score being called!  This gives an additional couple of seconds for the receivers to process the score called with our resorting to the 2021 rule.

 

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

 

Rule Book Year2023
Rule Change ID544
Date CreatedJune 27, 2022
View Comments View Comments