Rule Submission TitleSwing attempts on the serve.
USAP Board Vote ReasonFailed
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonFailed. A swing and a miss is not a fault. To obtrusive.
Existing Rule #4.A
Proposed Rule Change

Any attempted service attempt, whether successful or not, will be considered a serve.

Original Rule Text

Interpretational.  According to one high ranking ref, swing attempts on the serve don't count as a serve unless the ball strikes the paddle.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

As the rule is now (according to the high ranking ref), a player can swing at the ball and hit their arm instead of the paddle, and it's not considered a fault.  Nor is a swing and a miss.  And service attempt that is unsuccessful should be a fault.  Pickleball is so much easier than any other racket/paddle sport, so this should be an issue even for beginners.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

A player attempts a serve and the ball hits his forearm (or head, or chest, or leg) and does not go into the correct service box.  A fault should be called and the player should not be entitled to however many seconds are left on the 10 second clock.  If the player simply tosses that ball with no service attempt and the ball hits a body part, the server can re-serve within the 10 second clock.

If a played attempts a serve and misses the ball, a fault should be called.

Rule Book Year2023
Rule Change ID497
Date CreatedJune 15, 2022
View Comments View Comments