Rule Submission TitleChallenge of a referee ruling and the declining the challenge once the Head Referee arrives at the court with no remaining time-outs
Existing Rule #13.G.2.d
Proposed Rule Change

Challenging the referee’s interpretation of a rule and losing the challenge (e.g., referee’s ruling was correct) and no time-out is available. (Verbal Warning not applicable) Challenging the referee’s interpretation of a rule and then rescinding the challenge once the Head Referee arrives at the court and no time-out is available.

Original Rule Text

Challenging the referee’s interpretation of a rule and losing the challenge (e.g., referee’s ruling was correct) and no time-out is available. (Verbal Warning not applicable)

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

The player has stopped the play and essentially received an extra time out.  If no time-outs were remaining there should be a penalty assessed to the player.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

Player challenges a ruling by the referee.  Play stops until the Head Referee arrives,  The player then declines the Head referee and accepts the original ruling by the referee of the court. This gives the player an extra time out.

Rule Book Year2023
Rule Change ID489
Date CreatedJune 14, 2022
View Comments View Comments