Rule Submission TitleHead Referee called then declined
USAP Board Vote ReasonFailed
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonFailed. Proposal was too broad and overreaching. Proposal did not address all scenarios.
Existing Rule #13. G.1.g
Proposed Rule Change

Challenging the referee’s interpretation of a rule and losing the challenge (e.g., referee’s ruling was correct) and a time-out is assessed. (Verbal Warning not applicable) Challenging the referee’s interpretation of a rule and calling the Head Referee to court, then declining the HR once they arrive.  A time- out is assessed.

Original Rule Text

Challenging the referee’s interpretation of a rule and losing the Challenge (e.g., referee’s ruling was correct) and a time out is assessed. (Verbal Warning not applicable)

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

The player is essentially taking a  time out by calling for the Head Referee.  The player then changes their mind or declines the Head Referee so no challenge of a rule takes place.  If a Time out is not assessed, then the player can actually receive a third stoppage of play by asking for and then declining the Head Referee.  A time out should still be assessed since the player stopped the flow  of the game by requesting the Head Referee.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

Player challenges a ruling by the referee.  Once the HR arrives, they change their mind and does not follow through with the challenge. There is still a stoppage of play.  So a Time out should still be assessed.

 

If the player is out of time outs, a TF should be assessed.  This same scenario can be added to rule 13. G.2.e see additional proposed rule change to 13.G.2.d

Rule Book Year2023
Rule Change ID488
Date CreatedJune 13, 2022
View Comments View Comments