|Rule Submission Title
|Plane of the Net exception
|USAP Board Vote Reason
|USAP Rules Committee Vote Reason
|Failed. Keeping the current wording would help clarify situations when this event does occur.
|Existing Rule #
|Proposed Rule Change
Remove the word "under".
|Original Rule Text
court with enough backspin or wind aid to cause it to
return to the other side of the net, the receiving
player may cross the plane of the net (over, under or
around the net post) to hit the ball. It is a fault if the
receiving player (or anything the receiving player is
wearing or carrying) crosses the plane of the net
before the ball has first crossed back over the plane of the net.
|Reasoning Behind Suggested Change
What is the purpose of the net if not a barrier? Why would a player be allowed to reach under it, under any circumstances?
It makes sense to go over or around the barrier when necessary. Never, ever through. Go under is identical to going "through" the intended barrier.
Not all nets are uniform. Many reach the ground. Some are a couple inches a over the ground, some several inches above the ground. A net's dimensions, height and width, are uniform and make for equal and fair play everywhere. To allow reaching under the net means there will be far more randomness and far less uniformity among nets.
While this occurrence of reaching under the net on an over and back shot is so rare, why even include reaching under as an option in the first place?
|Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies
Ball goes over the net and comes back.
|Rule Book Year
|Rule Change ID
|May 31, 2022