|Rule Submission Title||Remove Correct Receiver question|
|USAP Board Voting Status||Failed|
|USAP Rules Committee Voting Status||Failed: This will be addressed in the handbook/casebook, allowing the referee to answer the position question when asked about the correct receiver.|
|Existing Rule #||4.B.8|
|Proposed Rule Change|
4.B.8. Before the serve occurs, any player may ask the referee for the score, correct server, correct player position, and may challenge/confirm the called score. Any player may ask any one or more of these questions.
The Referee Handbook will also need to be modified to instruct referees to answer a correct receiver question with a statement on whether or not the player is in the correct position.
|Original Rule Text|
4.B.8. Before the serve occurs, any player may ask the referee for the score, correct server or receiver, correct player position, and may challenge/confirm the called score. Any player may ask any one or more of these questions.
|Reasoning Behind Suggested Change|
In most cases, the answers to the correct receiver question and the correct position question are the same. However, when the server is in the incorrect postion, answering the correct receiver question can cause confusion.
|Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies|
Any time a player asks if they are the correct receiver, the referee will answer with their correct position.
This specifically address the situation where the server is out of position and the receiver positioned correctly based on their score.
|Rule Book Year||2023|
|Rule Change ID||371|
|Date Created||May 11, 2022|
|View Comments||View Comments|