Rule Submission TitleRemove Correct Receiver question
Existing Rule #4.B.8
Proposed Rule Change

4.B.8. Before the serve occurs, any player may ask the referee for the score, correct server, correct player position, and may challenge/confirm the called score. Any player may ask any one or more of these questions.

The Referee Handbook will also need to be modified to instruct referees to answer a correct receiver question with a statement on whether or not the player is in the correct position.

Original Rule Text

4.B.8. Before the serve occurs, any player may ask the referee for the score, correct server or receiver, correct player position, and may challenge/confirm the called score. Any player may ask any one or more of these questions.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

In most cases, the answers to the correct receiver question and the correct position question are the same. However, when the server is in the incorrect postion, answering the correct receiver question can cause confusion.
If the server is in the correct position then the opponent diagonally across from them asks if they are the correct receiver, the answer should be 'No'. Depending on how astute the player are, this could lead to
1) The receiver thinks that they are actually in the wrong position and changes sides with their partner
2) The server is tipped off that they are out of position
3) The receiver correctly realizes that the server is out of position and they are in their correct position. They do not move.
My specific concern is about outcome #1. If the receivers changes sides, they are now out of position. When the server serves, they should get called for a service fault. The receivers may not realize they should switch back. If they don't, they will get called for a receiver or server error themselves on the next rally. The answer the referee gave, although correct, led directly to the player being faulted. The definition of 'correct receiver' is nuanced and is not well understood by many players.
I think this could be addressed in a number of ways:
1) Redefine 'correct receiver' to be the based on the receiver's score and the position of the server. The correct receiver would be the person should be lined up diagonally across from the server ( who could be in an incorrect position) based on the receiver's score.
2) Allow the referee to answer the receiver in this situation with 'You are in the correct position'. Other receiver questions would be still be answered with a Yes or No. Note: I am not recommending this, since it deviates from policies that we have to answer the exact question that is asked and to answer with Yes/No if possible
3) Do nothing. Continue to answer with a 'No' in this stuation and expect players to understand what that means.
4) Remove the 'Am I the correct receiver' question. If it is asked, always respond with 'You are (or are not) in the correct position'. This is similar to what we did when players were not allowed to ask if they were in the correct position. We answered with their score.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

Any time a player asks if they are the correct receiver, the referee will answer with their correct position.

This specifically address the situation where the server is out of position and the receiver positioned correctly based on their score.

Rule Book Year2023
Rule Change ID371
Date CreatedMay 11, 2022
View Comments View Comments