Rule Submission TitleFouls occurring during an end change.
USAP Board Vote ReasonApproved
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonPass
IFP Voting StatusAverage: 8.6 Detail:7,8,7,10,8,10,10
Existing Rule #5.B.7
Proposed Rule Change (edited)

USAP Rules Committee:

Once the end change point has been scored, a technical foul resulting in the loss of a point for the serving team shall have no impact on the completion of the end change.

Proposed Rule Change

5.B.7. After the end change has started, a technical foul resulting in the loss of a point for the serving team shall have no impact on the completed end change.

Original Rule Text

5.B.7. After the end change has occurred, a technical foul resulting in the loss of a point for the serving team shall have no impact on the completed end change.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

Suggestion: Change the wording in 5B7 to the following:
Current: After the end change has occurred, , ,"
Proposed: "Once the end change starts, , , ,"

Reason: The current wording uses a past tense structure which implies that once the end change HAS occurred, any TF point penalty shall have no impact. It leaves the debate door open that a TF committed before the end switch is finished, will have an impact. This change removes any possible debate.

Rule Book Year2022
Rule Change ID33
Date CreatedMay 30, 2021
View Comments View Comments