Rule Submission TitleAll Lines In
USAP Board Vote ReasonFailed
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonFailed. Also, technically the way this is written would mean a ball hitting the NVZ sideline would be in.
Existing Rule #6.A.
Proposed Rule Change

If a ball hits a line, it’s in; play it. This includes the line marking the non-volley zone.

Original Rule Text

A served ball that clears the non-volley zone and lands in the correct service court or on any correct service court line is in.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

• This is the rule now for all lines except the non-volley line, and that only on serves.

• There’s no obvious reason why that one line should be an exception.

• If it weren’t an exception, the rules would be simpler and easier to explain to beginners.

• Like the rule change about let serves being good, this change would favor continuation of play over stoppage of play.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

All play.

I spend most of my time working with beginning players, so the 4 changes I'm suggesting would be of most value to them (and people like me who are introducing them to pickleball). We grow the sport by making it easy to learn.

Rule Book Year2023
Rule Change ID290
Date CreatedMarch 23, 2022
View Comments View Comments