Rule Submission TitleModification of Rule 9C
USAP Board Vote ReasonFailed
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonFailed. No. This an integral part of the game.
Existing Rule #Rule 9C
Proposed Rule Change

I am proposing the rule be modified to state that a player will not be in violation of Rule 9C as long as the ball was struck outside of the NVZ, and they do not stay in the NVZ after their momentum has carried them into the zone.  However, if playing doubles and the partner not initiating contact with the ball enters the NVZ, it would still be a violation.

 

Original Rule Text

9.C. It is a fault if the player’s momentum causes the player to contact anything that is touching the non-volley zone, including the player’s partner.

 

 

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

This will allow play to continue and speed up the games. Further, it is a safety issue as people (including myself) attempting to stop before the zone have fallen to the ground. Someone could get seriously hurt.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

Any volley initiated and completed outside the NVZ where the players momentum temporarily carries them into the NVZ.

Rule Book Year2023
Rule Change ID283
Date CreatedMarch 3, 2022
View Comments View Comments