|Rule Submission Title
|Remove determination of winner of rally for dead ball rule
|USAP Board Vote Reason
|USAP Rules Committee Vote Reason
|Failed. Unnecessary edit
|Existing Rule #
|Proposed Rule Change
8. D. A ball in play that contacts a permanent object will result in a dead ball.
|Original Rule Text
8. D. A ball in play that contacts a permanent object after it has bounced on the opponent’s court will result in a dead ball. The player who hit the ball shall win the rally.
|Reasoning Behind Suggested Change
Further, no dead ball rule should determine which player/team wins a rally, but only when a dead ball occurs.
|Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies
The possibility exists that the ball was struck as a volley and legally contacted the striker's opponents' court, and that the player who struck the volley had not gathered his/her momentum prior to the ball striking the permanent object (PO), subsequently stepping into the NVZ. According to 8D, the ball's contact with the PO negates the need for the striker of the volley to gather momentum or avoid the NVZ.
With the rule as written:
The striker claims the rally because the ball hit the PO before he/she contacted the NVZ, where in 8D "The player who hit the ball shall win the rally", and
The striker's opponent claims the rally because of the NVZ fault, according to Rule 9.C and 9.C.1
|Rule Book Year
|Rule Change ID
|October 13, 2021