Rule Submission Title | Ball coming back to the other side of the net |
---|---|
USAP Board Voting Status | Approved |
USAP Rules Committee Voting Status | Pass |
IFP Voting Status | Average: 8.0 Detail:7,8,9,10,3,10,9 |
Existing Rule # | 11.I.1 |
Proposed Rule Change (edited) | (NOTE: THE EDIT IS TO CHANGE "BACK OVER" TO "THE OTHER SIDE OF") |
Proposed Rule Change | 11.I.1. Exception: If the ball bounces into a receiving player’s court with enough backspin or wind aid to cause it to return to the other side of the net, the receiving player may cross the plane of the net (over, under or around the net post) to hit the ball. It is a fault if the receiving player (or anything the receiving player is wearing or carrying) crosses the plane of the net before the ball has first crossed back over the plane of the net to the opponent’s side. It is a fault if the player touches the net system, the opponent’s court or the opponent while the ball is still in play. |
Original Rule Text | 11.I.1. Exception: If the ball bounces into a receiving player’s court with enough backspin or wind aid to cause it to return back over the net the receiving player may cross the plane of the net (over, under or around the net post) to hit the ball. It is a fault if the receiving player (or anything the receiving player is wearing or carrying) crosses the plane of the net before the ball has first crossed back over the plane of the net to the opponent’s side. It is a fault if the player touches the net system, the opponent’s court or the opponent while the ball is still in play. |
Reasoning Behind Suggested Change | To make it clear that it is not a requirement for the ball to literally travel 'over' the net. It just needs to travel to the other side of the net on a backspin in order for the rest of Rule 11.I.1 to apply. |
Rule Book Year | 2022 |
Rule Change ID | 22 |
Date Created | May 29, 2021 |
View Comments | View Comments |
Recent Comments