Rule Submission TitleClose Rules Gap for Casebook Case 2-22 - BALL CONTACTS A PLAYERS HAT
USAP Board VoteFailure Confirmed
USAP Rules Committee VoteFailed
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonThe casebook item addresses an interpretation of the current rule, not a gap in the rule, and should remain in the casebook.
Existing Rule #7.H.
Proposed Rule Change

7.H.  After the serve, the ball contacts a player or anything the player is wearing or carrying, except the paddle or the player’s hand(s) in contact with the paddle and below the wrist. The fault is on the player who was hit by the ball.

7.H.1. If the player is in the process of changing hands with both hands on the paddle or is attempting a two-handed stroke and either hand is hit below the wrist, as long as a player’s hand is in contact with the paddle, the ball is still in play.

7.H.2.  If anything the player is wearing or carrying (e.g. hat, glasses, paddle, watch) falls off the player it is considered to be part of the player until it hits the ground.  Therefore if the object is hit by the ball before it hits the ground it is a fault on the player who was wearing or carrying that object.  (Rule 11.O applies)

Original Rule Text

7.H.  After the serve, the ball contacts a player or anything the player is wearing or carrying, except the paddle or the player’s hand(s) in contact with the paddle and below the wrist. If the player is in the process of changing hands with both hands on the paddle or is attempting a two-handed stroke and either hand is hit below the wrist, as long as a player’s hand is in contact with the paddle, the ball is still in play. The fault is on the player who was hit by the ball. 

Rule Book Year2024
Rule Change ID1102
Date CreatedApril 27, 2023
View Comments View Comments