Rule Submission TitleClose Rules gap for Casebook Case 2-23: BALL ROLLS DOWN THE SURFACE OF A DEFLECTING NET
USAP Board VotePassed
USAP Rules Committee VotePassed with modification
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonThe proposed change closes the rules gap that is addressed by Casebook Case 2-23. Modify the proposal by replacing 'deflecting' with 'billowing', which is a more universally understood term.
Existing Rule #11.L.5.b.
Proposed Rule Change (edited)

2.C.6 If the net drapes onto the court and such a configuration is not corrected by the tournament staff prior to the start of play, and if the referee deems a ball is affected by the draping net, it shall result in a replay. Draping Net. Except on the serve, a replay will occur if the ball goes over the net and hits a draping net on the ground.

2.C.7 A replay shall occur if the ball goes over the net and hits the
billowing net.

11.L.5.b. Except on the serve a replay will be called shall occur if the ball goes over the net and
- hits the center base
- hits any part of the horizontal bar
- the ball gets caught between the net and the horizontal bar
- hits a billowing net
- hits a net draping on the ground

Other than on the serve, if the ball goes over the net and bounces on the court and then performs any of the three above listed actions, a replay shall occur.
 

 

Proposed Rule Change

11.L.5.b. Except on the serve a replay will be called shall occur if the ball goes over the net and
- hits the center base
- hits any part of the horizontal bar
- the ball gets caught between the net and the horizontal bar
- hits a deflecting net
- hits a net draping on the ground

Other than on the serve, if the ball goes over the net and bounces on the court and then performs any of the three above listed actions, a replay shall occur.
 

 

Original Rule Text

11.L.5.b. Except on the serve, if the ball goes over the net and hits the center base, or any part of the horizontal bar, or the ball gets caught between the net and the horizontal bar, a replay will be called. Other than on the serve, if the ball goes over the net and bounces on the court and then performs any of the three above listed actions, a replay shall occur.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

This proposed rules change closes the rules gap that is addressed by Casebook Case 2-23. If accepted, Casebook Case 2-23 can be eliminated.

Rule Book Year2024
Rule Change ID1097
Date CreatedApril 27, 2023
View Comments View Comments