Rule Submission TitleRule 11.N One Paddle
USAP Board VoteFailure Confirmed
USAP Rules Committee VoteFailed
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonThe literal meaning of the current rule is appropriate and should stand. A player cannot carry two paddles at any time during a rally for any reason. The rule does not prohibit a player from tossing their paddle to their partner and retrieving the dropped paddle.
Existing Rule #11N
Proposed Rule Change

11.N. One Paddle. A player shall not use or carry more than one paddle during a rally. A violation of this rule is a fault. Exception: A player may quickly pick up and return their partner's paddle that has dropped to the ground. They may not strike the ball when holding both paddles.

Original Rule Text

11.N. One Paddle. A player shall not use or carry more than one paddle during a rally. A violation of this rule is a fault.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

The way the current rule is written a player picking up a partner's dropped paddle and handing it to his partner would be in violation of this rule.
This was not the intent of the rule, so it needs to be clarified.

Rule Book Year2024
Rule Change ID1080
Date CreatedApril 25, 2023
View Comments View Comments