|Rule Submission Title||Remove referee procedure info from 10-Second rule|
|Rule Book Year||2022|
|Date Created||June 23, 2021|
|Rule Change ID||95|
|Existing Rule #||4.E.2|
|Original Rule Text|
4.E.2. After the score has been called, if the serving team changes serving courts, the referee shall call “Time”, allow all players to reposition, and then recall the score to re-start the 10-second count. In a non-officiated match, the server will allow for the same repositioning and will recall the score to re-start the 10 second count.
|Proposed Rule Change|
4.E.2. After the score has been called, if the serving team changes serving courts, play should be stopped to allow all players to reposition. The score should then be re-called to restart the 10-second count.
|Reasoning Behind Suggested Change|
The current rule dictates specific verbiage that a referee must use to stop play. Using the word "time" is problematic in that it is confused with calling a time-out. Referee procedures are covered in the Officiating Handbook.
|IFP Voting Status||Average: 0.7 Detail:1,0,0,0,4,0,0|
|View Comments||View Comments|