Rule Submission TitleBall coming back to the other side of the net
USAP Board Voting StatusApproved
USAP Rules Committee Voting StatusPass
IFP Voting StatusAverage: 8.0 Detail:7,8,9,10,3,10,9
Existing Rule #11.I.1
Proposed Rule Change (edited)

(NOTE: THE EDIT IS TO CHANGE "BACK OVER" TO "THE OTHER SIDE OF")

Proposed Rule Change

11.I.1. Exception: If the ball bounces into a receiving player’s court with enough backspin or wind aid to cause it to return to the other side of the net, the receiving player may cross the plane of the net (over, under or around the net post) to hit the ball. It is a fault if the receiving player (or anything the receiving player is wearing or carrying) crosses the plane of the net before the ball has first crossed back over the plane of the net to the opponent’s side. It is a fault if the player touches the net system, the opponent’s court or the opponent while the ball is still in play.

Original Rule Text

11.I.1. Exception: If the ball bounces into a receiving player’s court with enough backspin or wind aid to cause it to return back over the net the receiving player may cross the plane of the net (over, under or around the net post) to hit the ball. It is a fault if the receiving player (or anything the receiving player is wearing or carrying) crosses the plane of the net before the ball has first crossed back over the plane of the net to the opponent’s side. It is a fault if the player touches the net system, the opponent’s court or the opponent while the ball is still in play.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

To make it clear that it is not a requirement for the ball to literally travel 'over' the net. It just needs to travel to the other side of the net on a backspin in order for the rest of Rule 11.I.1 to apply.

Rule Book Year2022
Rule Change ID22
Date CreatedMay 29, 2021
View Comments View Comments