|Rule Submission Title||Backspin Rule Clarification|
|Rule Book Year||2022|
|Date Created||June 26, 2021|
|Rule Change ID||169|
|Existing Rule #||7.C|
|Original Rule Text|
7.C. Hitting the ball under the net or between the net and the net post.
|Proposed Rule Change|
7.C. Hitting the ball under the net or between the net and the net post, unless the ball first contacts the opponent's court.
|Reasoning Behind Suggested Change|
A ball that hits the opponent's court, then either spins back or is blown back towards the net and passes through the gap between the post and the net or under the net is currently a fault on the striking player. Rule 7.C should be clarified so it is not a fault.
USAP rules committee notes: This can be a casebook entry
|IFP Voting Status||Average: 8.6 Detail:7,8,8,10,8,10,9|
|View Comments||View Comments|