Rule Submission TitleHitting the net as part of volley momentum
USAP Board Voting StatusNot voted upon
USAP Rules Committee Voting StatusFail
IFP Voting StatusAverage: 1.9 Detail:1,1,0,0,0,10,1
Existing Rule #9.C
Proposed Rule Change

9.C: During the act of volleying, it is a fault if the volleying player’s momentum causes the player to contact the net system or anything that is touching the non-volley zone, including the player’s partner.

Original Rule Text

9.C : During the act of volleying, it is a fault if the volleying player’s momentum causes the player to contact anything that is touching the non-volley zone, including the player’s partner.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

The addition of “the net system” as a momentum fault will address the following scenario. The match is being played with a portable net system. Player A hits a running volley at full speed from just outside the NVZ and knows that they will be unable to stop their momentum. Player A leaps forward trying to jump the net and NVZ altogether. The ball hits the opposing player in the chest creating a dead ball scenario. Shortly after the ball is dead, Player A’s momentum carries them over the NVZ and they collide with the temporary nets falling into Player B's court along with taking the net out. Per 2021 rules, this is not a fault. I feel that this should be accounted for in 2022.

Rule Book Year2022
Rule Change ID12
Date CreatedMay 28, 2021
View Comments View Comments