Displaying 1 - 50 of 139
Displaying 1 - 50 of 139
|Rule Change ID||Submitted||From||Comment|
|34||July 5, 2021||Bill|| |
... unless the player can clearly see that the ball contacted the court outside the line.
|40||June 30, 2021||Kevin|| |
0-0-Start or 0-0-2 makes no big difference to me but I would not suggest the team serving first get 2 serves. It's like grade school when you pick teams. Do you want first pick or next two. This lessens the advantage of the team that serves first. If the first team were to get 2 serves it gives a bigger advantage to them.
|7||July 5, 2021||Don|| |
1. Why have a rule if it has no teeth? (Disagreement equals replay).
|112||July 8, 2021||Tim|| |
A big advantage of this would be that BOTH TEAMS know exactly where to stand and exactly who is serving just by knowing the score.
|31||July 5, 2021||Don|| |
A referee can always call a TW/TF after the rally has completed and this prevents a referee from inserting themselves before the rally has ended. No rush needed.
|31||June 20, 2021||Alan|| |
A referee can and should be able to stop play to issues a TW or TF. If a player hits a ball causing it to pop up for an easy overhead winner and the just throw there paddle towards the net, that would be an instance where a referee could stop play and issue the TW/TF. This could be looked at as the referee stopping play for a distraction also and then issuing the TW/TF. There are circumstances where stopping play and issuing a TW/TF do occur though, so I feel that taking that wording out would bring up more confusion.
|52||July 5, 2021||Don|| |
A referee has many tools to use when getting players back playing. The same guidelines for getting them back playing after a time-out are used after every single rally; call the score when players should be ready. This is ALL you need to control the pace and flow of the game. Remove the handcuffs and let the referees control the flow of the game. This overly punitive and embarrassing for the sport rule needs to be corrected. It is an embarrassment to everyone involved and unnecessary.
|7||June 25, 2021||Kevin|| |
|39||June 21, 2021||Marsha|| |
Agree. “Non-volley zone” is a misnomer.
|35||June 25, 2021||Jameson|| |
Agree. Post is part of the net. With the change in Let rules last year a fixed part of the net should be ok to hit if the ball lands in.
|100||June 25, 2021||Jameson|| |
An opponent calling a line fault could be an opportunity for a redo. Having had to call an opponent on a line fall before, I do feel like I need the power to call an opponent on it. I’m also OK just having it be a redo of the serve. It was a pretty close line fault, and I watched it happen for three service before I called them on it.
The other option could be some kind of warning system, first warning second warning, fault.
The more I think about this rule the more complicated it feels, I can see avenues for gamin the system on both sides
|77||June 26, 2021||Bill|| |
As a referee, I do not want the responsibility for determining if a medical time-out should be granted. I've had no medical training. I don't want to be in a position to determine if an ambulance is needed. Leave the medical decisions to the trained medical personnel.
|103||June 25, 2021||Jameson|| |
Beginners do not “need” to learn more than one serve. I know many seniors that seem to prefer drop serves so they should be allowed to continue. People can pick a serve and do what they like.
I learned 002 when I was a beginner and I didn’t find it confusing. I find it less confusing than 00start. Rule book should allow both.
|20||June 2, 2021||Stan|| |
Saw on Facebook that you are taking feedback on the Drop Serve. Here's my view from each perspective:
Hope all goes well in Indy this weekend and look forward to seeing you in Hoover next week. Safe travels!
|103||June 25, 2021||Walt|| |
Bouncing the ball to serve is an insult to our wonderful game. I can’t imagine who would suggest such a rule. This is not little league baseball and is embarrassing for me to even watch. We have a player with only one arm. The only way he can serve is by dropping the ball. This is the only time dropping the ball on a serve should be allowed.
|16||June 26, 2021||Bill|| |
Changing ends too often only causes more delay in tournaments. It also creates more confusion for players to line up in their correct positions.
|85||July 5, 2021||Don|| |
Completely disagree with this entire concept. The current plane of the net rules allow for understandable crossing of the plane with certain limitations. A hard question is this: Why should a player be allowed to use the opponent's court space to aid in their shot? Stay on your side until you comply with the current rules of when you can cross. Crossing the plane rules are not hard to enforce especially when you have a straight line visual aid being the net as a guide. If these rules are removed, this will open a pandora's box of arguments concerning distractions.
|63||July 17, 2021||Mary|| |
COORDINATOR PLEASE NOTE: I tried to change Rule ID to 63 re: Rally Point Scoring (RPS) but form would not let me change the No. 7. (Mary - Victoria, BC)
|20||July 10, 2021||Dave|| |
Disagree wholeheartedly on the top of the paddleface issue. The idea is to prevent players from serving sideways. Sidewinders are legal in baseball, not pickleball. The upward swing is what makes picklball unique and allows all people of any level to play and compete. Anything that even remotely appears to be sideways should simply be illegal. Way to close to the waist. Most recreational players cannot even return those serves. Wow, that is fun and enjoyable. Most people that get 4-5 points on serves almost always win. Wow, that really makes the game fun to play. Not. If we allow all these people to push the envelope then we might as well quit playing pickleball and go back to playing tennis. I don’t even know how you can hit a ball that is below the waist with the paddleface above the break in the wrist. Appears to defy physics. A ball below the waist is below the net and must be hit in an upward motion, no matter how imperceptible, or it will not clear the net.
|52||June 25, 2021||Kevin|| |
Disagree with this proposed rule change as stated. Other rules have been changed to take judgement of the referee out of the game yet this rule brings back that judgement. I realize it was an embarrassing event in a recent tournament when a person served to a paddle laying on the ground but trust me, that was a warning to all players. No player will let this happen again and they will respect the 60 seconds and the 15 second warning.
The proposed new rule will be abused. It won't happen every time but when money is on the line one team will try to take advantage and delay the return to the court. If even by 5 or 10 seconds this is 5 or 10 seconds of rest you have stolen from the team who returned to play within the designated time period. If my team is the one who returns in the allotted time (60 seconds) and the other team does not then that's additional time I must stand in the sun for obeying the rules while they rest (and possibly ice our team's server).
If this rule change gains momentum I would propose 2 alternatives.
|40||June 25, 2021||Kevin|| |
Disagree. 1 serve is all that is needed.
|25||June 25, 2021||Kevin|| |
Disagree. Leave court as is.
|86||June 25, 2021||Kevin|| |
Disagree. No player should be required to yield their side of the net. In fact, if were going to change the rule I would make it a fault to reach over the net in an attempt to play the ball that has backspin and has traveled back over the net without player contact. That's just a great shot.
|40||June 26, 2021||Bill|| |
Disagree. Most players (in tournaments) know how to serve.
|40||June 21, 2021||Marsha|| |
Disagree. This is pickleball, not tennis. A second serve is not necessary since players can accurately serve the ball the vast majority of the time.
|40||June 26, 2021||Aimee|| |
Disagree. You already get a second serve by your partner serving again.
|123||July 4, 2021||Don|| |
For clarity, I (Don Stanley) stated that as a referee, I would blame myself for not removing all balls as this is now a safety issue. I would call for a replay in this situation based on referee error.
|23||July 5, 2021||Bill|| |
From my point of view as a referee I like the rule as it is. I never had a "phantom let" before, but I feel the current rule is no problem and removes the opportunity for mischief (integrity and sportsmanship). I have refereed PPA and Regionals although not 500 matches. Note that both sides of the net play with the same net, temporary or permanent.
|40||June 21, 2021||Melody|| |
Giving a second serve opportunity will encourage more players to attempt serves that press the envelope on illegal verses legal motions, since they get a replay. There should be a distinct penalty for illegal serves and the player should not get a do over.
|63||June 27, 2021||Meri|| |
Hmmm. Not sure i like this change. 2 servers each side is fun. This changes score calling, I like the current system.
|23||June 27, 2021||Bob|| |
I agree from a safety perspective. Proper positioning on the court makes it extremely difficult to get to a serve that clips the net and barely lands in. Since let serves are obvious I don't see the false let serve call ever. Considering the wide age range of players i think replaying let serves should be reestablished
|127||June 30, 2021||Kevin|| |
I agree in principle. However as it relates to the paddle this could be challenging. 10% is a tight tolerance. If your edge guard or over grip is the same color you're basically at that limit. Add this to the problem that not every tournament may use the yellow ball. So buy a pink paddle and a tournament decides to use the pink Franklin and you either don't play or buy a new paddle. You buy an orange paddle and the next tournament decides to use the Orange Dura (another new paddle). I like the limitation on the clothing as it relates to shirts and shorts. Paddles and shoes are expensive so I would remove this restriction unless USAP wants to designate a ball color as the only allowed ball color (e.g. Yellow) in which case players can plan ahead when purchasing paddles and shoes.
|59||June 25, 2021||Bill|| |
I agree that the drop serve should be full instated as a permanent rule. I do not agree that any changes should be made to the current rule concerning the drop serve. In all racquet sports the serve is a weapon and should not be restricted. In almost all tournaments you can see some players using the traditional serve in ways that could be considered questionable. In the quick service motion it is almost impossible (without slow motion replay) to decide if all the qualifications for a legal serve have been met. If any new change is made it might be in the best interest of the game to only allow the drop serve. Service questions automatically go away.
|109||July 18, 2021||Jan|| |
I agree that the rule that the paddle must be below the wrist is way to confusing to implement and will lead to arguments that could not be resolved on court. The game has evolved and less restrictions should be placed on the serve. The below the hip is all we need.
|7||July 6, 2021||Terry|| |
I agree with change.
|25||June 2, 2021||Mary|| |
I agree with having a smaller court for singles.
|23||June 6, 2021||Tracey|| |
I agree with reinstating the service let call. I haven’t played with anyone that likes it.
|103||June 26, 2021||Martin|| |
I agree with resuming 0-0- start as the opening score..
I favor retaining the drop serve. It has helped some of my students and allows for some variations in the serve..
|8||June 20, 2021||Alan|| |
I agree with the idea of TW/TF resulting in the removal (or additional in some cases) of points. I would add to this that we remove the verbal warning though. You have 3 strikes and then a game or match forfeit.
|83||June 25, 2021||Diane|| |
I agree with the observation is that the rule has failed at making line calls better, and has on the contrary made line calls worse, and that the rulebook and the game are better off without this rule.
It essentially requires that players in some situations to call balls as OUT that they know for a fact are IN. For example, a player at the sideline should be within the rules in calling a ball OUT if the middle of the ball lies outside the line even if even if the edge of the ball obscures the gap. This is often a better view than their crosscourt partner. Requiring "a visible gap" invites argument, lies, and unsportsmanlike conduct.
But I disagree with the comment that there is any meaningful distinction between "the ball is in" and "I as an observer cannot call the ball out." If the observer cannot see it well enough to call it out, then they must defer the call to a player who has a better view, and if no one can see it well enough, then the ball is IN.
|39||June 25, 2021||Paul|| |
I agree with the proposed change. "No volley" more correctly defines the zone than does "Non volley"
|18||June 2, 2021||Mary|| |
I agree with the suggested rule change.
|7||June 22, 2021||Marsha|| |
I agree with the wording change.
|103||June 25, 2021||Darryl|| |
I agree with this change. Starting at 0/0-1 makes the scoring more easily taught to beginners. It actually makes winning the first serve more valuable when beginning a match.
|18||June 24, 2021||Marsha|| |
I agree with this change. No loss or gain of points occurs when the wrong score is called. If an incorrect score is not noted before the ball is served, the rally should not be interrupted; the score should be corrected after the rally is completed.
|25||June 27, 2021||Robert|| |
I agree with this proposal 100%. As a senior, 71 yrs, I cannot physically cover the entire court to play a singles game on a doubles size court. Living in a rural area, I find it nearly impossible to find a doubles partner. Therefore the only type of tournament that I have been able to participate in are scrambles where I don't have to have my own partner. Please adopt this rule, at least in senior divisions, so I can play in more tournaments
|63||June 27, 2021||Robert|| |
I agree with this proposal 100%. Side out scoring is the most confusing rule in pickleball. Rally point scoring is simpler and more fair. Why shouldn't whichever team wins s rally get a point. Let's follow the example of volleyball and badminton and adopt rally scoring.
|94||June 26, 2021||Bill|| |
I agree with this. However, I would add that if the server changes sides or gives the ball to their teammate, then the receiver should be allowed time to reposition properly (i.e. no "trick serves"). Asking the ref a question has become a common way to delay the serve. If someone is slow to returning to their position at the 15 second warning, they often ask the ref "Correct Server?" or "Correct Side?" just to reset the 10 second count and gain more time.
|20||June 25, 2021||Patty|| |
I am a pickleball instructor of beginner’s and offer them the opportunity to learn both serves. If they are struggling with the traditional serve, I encourage them to try the new drop serve. Almost all of them find it much easier to learn. There is also the advantage of having a different serve available if the person is mentally in a server’s slump, to do something completely different. I don’t see how it hurts to keep it! More tools in the ? toolbox! Thanks so much!
|20||June 26, 2021||Ed|| |
I am inclined to agree with the previous comment.
|Rule Change ID||Submitted||From||Comment|