|Rule Submission Title
|Remove referee procedure info from 10-Second rule
|USAP Board Vote Reason
|Not voted upon
|USAP Rules Committee Vote Reason
|IFP Voting Status
|Average: 0.7 Detail:1,0,0,0,4,0,0
|Existing Rule #
|Proposed Rule Change
4.E.2. After the score has been called, if the serving team changes serving courts, play should be stopped to allow all players to reposition. The score should then be re-called to restart the 10-second count.
|Original Rule Text
4.E.2. After the score has been called, if the serving team changes serving courts, the referee shall call “Time”, allow all players to reposition, and then recall the score to re-start the 10-second count. In a non-officiated match, the server will allow for the same repositioning and will recall the score to re-start the 10 second count.
|Reasoning Behind Suggested Change
The current rule dictates specific verbiage that a referee must use to stop play. Using the word "time" is problematic in that it is confused with calling a time-out. Referee procedures are covered in the Officiating Handbook.
|Rule Book Year
|Rule Change ID
|June 23, 2021