Rule Submission TitleDeadline for out of position faults
USAP Board Voting StatusNot voted upon
USAP Rules Committee Voting StatusFail
IFP Voting StatusAverage: 2.1 Detail:1,3,2,0,7,0,2
Existing Rule #4.B.11
Proposed Rule Change

4.B.11. Incorrect Player or Position. When an incorrect server or player position is discovered after a rally, game, or match has ended, the offending team can be faulted until the next serve occurs or prior to the scoresheet being returned to the tournament operation’s desk. A point scored during the rally by the offending team will not count. Any previous points scored by the incorrect server or with players in the incorrect positions will stand. After a match is completed, an incorrect player or position error may not be corrected after the scoresheet has been signed.

Original Rule Text

4.B.11. Incorrect Player or Position. When an incorrect server or player position is discovered after a rally, game, or match has ended, the offending team can be faulted until the next serve occurs or prior to the scoresheet being returned to the tournament operation’s desk. A point scored during the rally by the offending team will not count. Any previous points scored by the incorrect server or with players in the incorrect positions will stand. After a match is completed, an incorrect player or position error may not be corrected after the scoresheet has been returned to tournament operations personnel.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change
Reasoning: When players sign the scoresheet, they are literally signing off on the recorded result as being accurate.  This is their chance to notice any inaccuracies and to carefully consider whether the match has been concluded properly and recorded properly.
The current rule requires that players chaperone the scoresheet as it is returned back to the ambiguously described "tournament operations personnel" (which might vary drastically from tournament to tournament).  Does this term include runners?  court monitors?  what if the scoresheet is handed to the Tournament Director who is in the process of walking it back to the table?  What if a runner gets pulled into being a line judge at the end of a tournament, and the scoresheet doesn't make it back to the table for 45 minutes since the scoresheet had the result of a gold medal match and the bracket is over, hence the scoresheet doesn't need to be back to the table in order for the tournament to proceed?   Players should be free to leave the venue once the scoresheet has been signed on their last match.
Rule Book Year2022
Rule Change ID62
Date CreatedJune 10, 2021
View Comments View Comments