|Rule Submission Title
|USAP Board Vote Reason
|USAP Rules Committee Vote Reason
|Passed. Wording was modified by the rules committee.
|Existing Rule #
|Proposed Rule Change (edited)
A ball hit by a player that first lands out of bounds or onto that player's side of the court.
|Proposed Rule Change
|Original Rule Text
|Reasoning Behind Suggested Change
Is it a fault if you hit a ball after it has first landed out of bounds? Or is it a fault if you hit a ball that then lands out of bound first? It's confusing to know the intent because the wording leaves room for one's own interpretation.
Replacing "first" with "subsequently" puts the actions in the proper chronological order without ambiguity.
|Rule Book Year
|Rule Change ID
|June 29, 2022