Rule Submission TitleAmbiguous wording
USAP Board Voting StatusPassed
USAP Rules Committee Voting StatusPassed. Wording was modified by the rules committee.
Existing Rule #7.D.
Proposed Rule Change (edited)

A ball hit by a player that first lands out of bounds or onto that player's side of the court.

Proposed Rule Change
  • A player hitting a ball that subsequently lands out of bounds or onto their own side of the court.
Original Rule Text
  • A player hitting a ball that first lands out of bounds or onto their own side of the court.
Reasoning Behind Suggested Change
Is it a fault if you hit a ball after it has first landed out of bounds? Or is it a fault if you hit a ball that then lands out of bound first? It's confusing to know the intent because the wording leaves room for one's own interpretation.
Replacing "first" with "subsequently" puts the actions in the proper chronological order without ambiguity.
Rule Book Year2023
Rule Change ID567
Date CreatedJune 30, 2022
View Comments View Comments