LIST OF SUGGESTED PICKLEBALL RULE CHANGES FOR PREVIOUS YEARS

Rule Change Process

Rule Submission TitleWrong Score Called
USAP Board Vote ReasonFailed
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonFailed. See the approved changed under 544.
Existing Rule #4.K
Proposed Rule Change

If a player thinks a wrong score has been called, a player may stop play to ask for a correction before the ball is served. If it has been served, a member of the receiving team only may stop play to correct the score. If the correction is valid, the result is replay. If the correction is invalid, the result is a fault.

Original Rule Text

The rules concerning what happens if the wrong score is called by a player or a referee have changed. If a player thinks a wrong score has been called, a player may stop play to ask for a correction before the ball is served. If it has been served, the rally is to be played out and the score correction (if any) is made before the next serve occurs.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

In a non-reffed matched, the serving team calls the score and determines when the serve occurs. Many times the receiving team does not have time to make a correction as the score call and the serve are close in timing. This gives the receiving team extra time to correct the score, while giving little advantage, if any.

If the referee calls the incorrect score, the serving team can pause and "process." However, if the serving team immediately serves the ball after the score is called, the receiving team is not given this luxury. This gives the receiving team extra time to correct the score, while giving little advantage, if any.

 

 

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

C.Smith/L.Kovalova vs. L.Jansen/C.Parenteau at the Acrytech Atlanta Open is an example.

Referee called the incorrect score. Serving team served the ball. BEFORE striking the ball, receiving team stopped play and questioned the score.

Current rules, this is a fault on the receiving team.
New rule, because the score was indeed incorrect and she stopped play and questioned the score BEFORE striking the ball, replay granted.

Rule Book Year2023
Rule Change ID550
Date CreatedJune 29, 2022
View Comments View Comments