|Rule Submission Title||Wrong score called|
|USAP Board Voting Status||Passed|
|Existing Rule #||4.K|
|Proposed Rule Change (edited)|
If the wrong score is called, the referee or any player may stop play before the return of serve to correct the score. The rally shall be restarted with the correct score called.
|Proposed Rule Change|
4.K. Wrong Score Called. If the server or referee calls the wrong score, play may be stopped before the return of serve to correct the score.
(Or whatever the rules said in 2020. I'm just preparing that we go back to that.)
|Original Rule Text|
4.K. Wrong Score Called. If the server or referee calls the wrong score, once the serve is made, play shall continue to the end of the rally and the correction made before the next serve. After the serve is made, a player who stops play based solely on an incorrect score call, will have committed a fault and shall lose the rally.
|Reasoning Behind Suggested Change|
Too many complaints about wrong score being called! This gives an additional couple of seconds for the receivers to process the score called with our resorting to the 2021 rule.
|Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies|
|Rule Book Year||2023|
|Rule Change ID||544|
|Date Created||June 27, 2022|
|View Comments||View Comments|