LIST OF SUGGESTED PICKLEBALL RULE CHANGES FOR PREVIOUS YEARS

Rule Change Process

Rule Submission TitleReferee ruling appealed then rescinded
USAP Board Vote ReasonFailed
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonFailed. Proposal was too broad and overreaching. Proposal did not address all scenarios.
Existing Rule #13.J
Proposed Rule Change

13.J. Rules Interpretations. If a player disagrees with a referee’s ruling or decision, that player may challenge the referee’s decision by asking for the Head Referee, Tournament Director, or the Tournament Director’s designee. If the referee’s ruling is determined to be correct, the player or team will lose a time-out and be given a technical warning. If no time-outs are available and the referee’s ruling is correct, the player or team will be given a technical foul. (See 13.G.2.d) When the referee’s ruling is incorrect, the ruling will be reversed and, if applicable, the rally will be replayed.  If a player rescinds their request when the Head Referee arrives they will still lose a time out and if none are available will be assessed a technical foul.

Original Rule Text

13.J. Rules Interpretations. If a player disagrees with a referee’s ruling or decision, that player may challenge the referee’s decision by asking for the Head Referee, Tournament Director, or the Tournament Director’s designee. If the referee’s ruling is determined to be correct, the player or team will lose a time-out and be given a technical warning. If no time-outs are available and the referee’s ruling is correct, the player or team will be given a technical foul. (See 13.G.2.d) When the referee’s ruling is incorrect, the ruling will be reversed and, if applicable, the rally will be replayed.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

To be consistent with the proposed rule changes to 13. G.1. G and 13. G.2. d

A player requesting an appeal of a ruling should be assessed a time out since play was stopped until the Head Referee arrived at  the court.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

Players requests an appeal on a ruling made by a referee.  Play stops until the Head referee arrives.  Head Referee arrives and player says, no never mind I changed my mind. Player essentially got a time-out and should be assessed a time-out.  If no time-outs are remaining then a penalty should be assessed for getting a third time-out or stoppage of play.

Rule Book Year2023
Rule Change ID498
Date CreatedJune 15, 2022
View Comments View Comments