|Rule Submission Title||Head Referee called then declined|
|USAP Board Voting Status||Failed|
|USAP Rules Committee Voting Status||Failed. Proposal was too broad and overreaching. Proposal did not address all scenarios.|
|Existing Rule #||13. G.1.g|
|Proposed Rule Change|
Challenging the referee’s interpretation of a rule and losing the challenge (e.g., referee’s ruling was correct) and a time-out is assessed. (Verbal Warning not applicable) Challenging the referee’s interpretation of a rule and calling the Head Referee to court, then declining the HR once they arrive. A time- out is assessed.
|Original Rule Text|
Challenging the referee’s interpretation of a rule and losing the Challenge (e.g., referee’s ruling was correct) and a time out is assessed. (Verbal Warning not applicable)
|Reasoning Behind Suggested Change|
The player is essentially taking a time out by calling for the Head Referee. The player then changes their mind or declines the Head Referee so no challenge of a rule takes place. If a Time out is not assessed, then the player can actually receive a third stoppage of play by asking for and then declining the Head Referee. A time out should still be assessed since the player stopped the flow of the game by requesting the Head Referee.
|Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies|
Player challenges a ruling by the referee. Once the HR arrives, they change their mind and does not follow through with the challenge. There is still a stoppage of play. So a Time out should still be assessed.
If the player is out of time outs, a TF should be assessed. This same scenario can be added to rule 13. G.2.e see additional proposed rule change to 13.G.2.d
|Rule Book Year||2023|
|Rule Change ID||488|
|Date Created||June 13, 2022|
|View Comments||View Comments|