Rule Submission TitleWrong Score Called
Existing Rule #4.K.
Proposed Rule Change

4.K. Wrong Score Called. If a player thinks a wrong score has been called, a player may stop play to ask for a correction before the ball is served. If the server or referee calls the wrong score, once the serve is made, play should continue to the end of the rally, and the score correction made before the next serve.

4.K.1. After the serve is made, a player who stops play based solely on an incorrect score call, will have committed a fault and shall lose the rally.
4.K.2. After the serve is made, if play is stopped to correctly point out an incorrect player/position fault has occurred as a result of the incorrect score call, the rally will be replayed. The error may be corrected and the rally replayed up until the next serve occurs.
4.K.3. If the first two numbers of the score were called correctly, but the third number of the score was called incorrectly, play shall continue to the end of the rally and the score correction shall be made before the next serve. After the serve is made, a player who stops play based solely on the third number of the score being called incorrectly will have committed a fault and shall lose the rally.

Original Rule Text

4.K. Wrong Score Called. If the server or referee calls the wrong score, once the serve is made, play shall continue to the end of the rally and the correction made before the next serve. After the serve is made, a player who stops play based solely on an incorrect score call, will have committed a fault and shall lose the rally.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

The current rule states what happens if a player stops play based solely on an incorrect serve call, but is silent on what happens if there is an incorrect player/position fault as a result of the (incorrect) score call.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

Scenario 1: The referee or server calls an incorrect serving team score. The receiver catches the ball after the serve and correctly claims that the serving team was out of position based on the score that was called. Under the proposed rule change, the score would be recalled correctly and the rally would be replayed.

Scenario 2: The referee or server calls an incorrect receiving team score. A serving team player catches the ball after the return of serve and correctly claims that the receiving team was out of position based on the score that was called. Under the proposed rule change, the score would be recalled correctly and the rally would be replayed.

Scenario 3: The referee or server calls an incorrect score. The server serves and the receiver catches the ball and claims both an incorrect score call and an incorrect server (based on the score that was called.) Under the proposed rule change, the score would be recalled correctly and the rally would be replayed.

Scenario 4: Match point. The referee or server calls an incorrect score. The serving team wins the rally and the match. Receiving team claims an incorrect server based on the
score that was called. Under the proposed rule change, the score would be recalled correctly and the rally would be replayed.

Rule Book Year2023
Rule Change ID386
Date CreatedMay 18, 2022
View Comments View Comments