LIST OF SUGGESTED PICKLEBALL RULE CHANGES FOR PREVIOUS YEARS

Rule Change Process

Rule Submission TitleRemove COVID/carry serve
USAP Board Vote ReasonApproved
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonPass
IFP Voting StatusAverage: 8.1 Detail:1,10,7,10,9,10,10
Existing Rule #7.N, 11.A
Proposed Rule Change

7.N. A player deliberately carrying or catching the ball on the paddle while the ball is live/in-play

11.A. Double Hits. Balls can be hit twice, but this must occur during an unintentional, continuous, single-direction stroke, by one player. If the stroke is deliberate, or not continuous or not in a single direction, or the ball is struck by a second player, it is a fault

Original Rule Text

7.N. After the serve, a player deliberately carrying or catching the ball on the paddle while the ball is live/in-play

11.A. Double Hits. Balls can be hit twice, but this must occur during an unintentional, continuous, single-direction stroke, by one player. After the serve, if the stroke is deliberate, or not continuous or not in a single direction, or the ball is struck by a second player, it is a fault

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

Change rules 7.N and 11.A. to the original wording (basically remove the "after the serve" phrase) in 2020 thereby removing the COVID reason that the rules were changed.

Rule Book Year2022
Rule Change ID32
Date CreatedMay 30, 2021
View Comments View Comments