LIST OF SUGGESTED PICKLEBALL RULE CHANGES FOR PREVIOUS YEARS

Rule Change Process

Rule Submission TitleServing team may also reposition during a rally
USAP Board Vote ReasonApproved
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonPass
IFP Voting StatusAverage: 7.3 Detail:7,1,10,10,5,10,8
Existing Rule #4.B.6.f, 4.B.6.g (new)
Proposed Rule Change (edited)

COMPLETELY REMOVE RULE 4.B.6.f

Proposed Rule Change

4.B.6.f. The receiving team does not alternate positions when a point is scored by the serving team.

4.B.6.g. The serving team may switch positions after the serve. The receiving team may switch positions after the return of serve. After the rally is over all players must return back to their correct positions, which correspond to the team’s score and the players’ starting positions.

Original Rule Text

4.B.6.f. The receiving team does not alternate positions when a point is scored by the serving team. The receiving team may switch positions after the return of serve, but after the rally is over, the receiving team must return back to their correct positions, which correspond to the team’s score and the players’ starting positions.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

Rule 4.B.6.f. states “The receiving team does not alternate positions when a point is scored by the serving team.” I have no issue with this statement and I believe it’s a relevant and important point to retain. However, the rule goes on to say: “The receiving team may switch positions after the return of serve, but after the rally is over, the receiving team must return back to their correct positions, which correspond to the team’s score and the players’ starting positions.” (my emphasis added). Again, I have no issue with this statement but there is no discussion in section 4B Player Positions that indicates the serving team may also switch positions after the serve is made and that they too must return back to their correct positions, which correspond to the team’s score and the player’s starting positions after the rally is over.

I believe it’s also necessary to indicate it is permissible for serving teams to switch positions after the serve takes place if there is specific language addressing the receiving team’s options. There are multiple times when these switches may take place for the serving team as well: 1) when the serving team chooses to “stack” and, 2) during the course of a rally when members of a serving team ”switch” in order to cover for a partner who may be out of position to return a shot. Similar to receiving teams, serving teams that make such a switch must return back to their correct positions before the next point.

I see two ways to address this proposed revision. First, you could expand Rule 4.B.6.f. to address both the receiving and the serving teams ability to switch. Second, I think it is more clear to add a new rule 4.B.6.g. addressing the serving team’s option with similar language used in 4.B.6.f.

Thanks for the opportunity to provide input. Please contact me if you questions or comments

Rule Book Year2022
Rule Change ID24
Date CreatedMay 30, 2021
View Comments View Comments