LIST OF SUGGESTED PICKLEBALL RULE CHANGES FOR PREVIOUS YEARS

Rule Change Process

Rule Submission TitlePlayer Stopping Play
USAP Board VoteFailure Confirmed
USAP Rules Committee VoteFailed
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonThe specific situations where a player may stop play are covered in Rule 13.D.1.c. Allowing players to call any type of fault on their opponent will not be good for the game.
Existing Rule #7.I and Section 8 - Dead Ball Rules
Proposed Rule Change

7.I. A live ball in play that is stopped by a player before it becomes dead except for a valid fault call against an opponent or themselves (e.g., catching or stopping a ball in flight before it makes contact with the playing surface). The fault is on the player who stopped the ball.

8.X A player may stop play without penalty in an officiated match to call a valid fault against an opponent or themselves. If the referee determines that the fault called by the player did not occur, it is a fault against the player who called the invalid fault.

 

Original Rule Text

7.I. A live ball that is stopped by a player before it becomes dead (e.g., catching or stopping a ball in flight before it makes contact with the playing surface). The fault is on the player who stopped the ball.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

This rule codifies that a player may stop play without penalty in officiated matches to call a valid fault against an opponent. If the referee determines that the fault called by the player was not valid, it is a fault against the player who called the invalid fault.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

Scenario 1: The server for Team A serves from the wrong position. Team B stops play before returning the serve and calls a fault on Team A before the referee does. The referee confirms the incorrect position of the server and enforces the incorrect position fault against Team A.

Scenario 2: Team A serves a ball that lands just beyond the NVZ line. Team B returns the serve just before the ball bounces twice. Team A stops play claiming that the ball bounced twice. The referee saw that the ball did not bounce twice and calls a fault on Team A for stopping play before the ball became dead.

Rule Book Year2024
Rule Change ID1215
Date CreatedMay 15, 2023
View Comments View Comments