LIST OF SUGGESTED PICKLEBALL RULE CHANGES FOR PREVIOUS YEARS

Rule Change Process

Rule Submission TitlePlayer Repositioning After Score Call
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonThis is no longer an issue because rule change 1017 now has the referee positioning players correctly before the serve.
Existing Rule #4.E.2
Proposed Rule Change

(Add) 4.E.3. After the score has been called, if the receiving team changes courts, the referee shall stop play, allow all players to reposition, and then recall the score to re-start the 10-second count. In a non-officiated match, the server will allow for the same repositioning and will recall the score to re-start the 10 second count.

Original Rule Text

4.E.2. After the score has been called, if the serving team changes serving courts, the referee shall stop play, allow all players to reposition, and then recall the score to re-start the 10-second count. In a nonofficiated match, the server will allow for the same repositioning and will recall the score to re-start the 10 second count.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

In the spirit of good sportsmanship and fair play, a receiving team that realizes they are in the incorrect positions after the score is called, but before the serve is made, should be allowed to reposition themselves without penalty just as a serving team that realizes they are out of position or sequence after the score is called. This action occurs during the time span that players may ask the referee or opponent for their correct positions and make any necessary adjustments. So that the receiving team is not caught in transition when the serve is made, play should be stopped to allow the players to get in their correct positions and then the score should be re-called to restart the 10-second count.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

After the score is called, the receiving team realizes they are in the incorrect positions. Not needing to ask the referee or opponent who is the correct receiver, they quickly scurry to their correct positions. Play is stopped so the server does not serve the ball while the players are repositioning.

Rule Book Year2024
Rule Change ID1211
Date CreatedMay 15, 2023
View Comments View Comments