LIST OF SUGGESTED PICKLEBALL RULE CHANGES FOR PREVIOUS YEARS

Rule Change Process

Rule Submission TitleChallenging a Correct Score Call
USAP Board VotePassed
USAP Rules Committee VotePassed with modification
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonFor the reasons stated in the proposal. Modify the proposal by deleting the words 'has been hit', which are redundant.
Existing Rule #4.K
Proposed Rule Change (edited)

4.K Wrong Score Called.

If the wrong score is called, the referee or any player may stop play before the return of serve to correct the score.  The rally shall be replayed with the correct score called.  After the return of serve, play shall continue to the end of the rally and the score correction made before the next serve. After the return of serve, a player who stops play to identify or ask for a score correction will have committed a fault and shall lose the rally.  A player who stops play at any time after the serve to identify or ask for a score correction when the score was correctly called will have committed a fault and shall lose the rally.

Proposed Rule Change

4.K Wrong Score Called.

If the wrong score is called, the referee or any player may stop play before the return of serve to correct the score.  The rally shall be replayed with the correct score called.  After the return of serve, play shall continue to the end of the rally and the score correction made before the next serve. After the return of serve, a player who stops play to identify or ask for a score correction will have committed a fault and shall lose the rally.  A player who stops play at any time after the serve has been hit to identify or ask for a score correction when the score was correctly called will have committed a fault and shall lose the rally.

Original Rule Text

4.K Wrong Score Called.

If the wrong score is called, the referee or any player may stop play before the return of serve to correct the score.  The rally shall be replayed with the correct score called.  After the return of serve, play shall continue to the end of the rally and the score correction made before the next serve. After the return of serve, a player who stops play to identify or ask for a score correction will have committed a fault and shall lose the rally.  A player who stops play at any time to identify or ask for a score correction when the score was correctly called will have committed a fault and shall lose the rally.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

This will clarify that a fault for challenging a correctly called score does not apply before the serve has been hit. The ball, by definition, is live/in play when the score call begins. By saying “who stops play at any time” the last sentence applies any time after the score call starts. Challenging the correctness of the score before the serve is essentially the same as asking for confirmation of the score, which is allowed before the serve is hit.

Rule Book Year2024
Rule Change ID1130
Date CreatedMay 1, 2023
View Comments View Comments