LIST OF SUGGESTED PICKLEBALL RULE CHANGES FOR PREVIOUS YEARS

Rule Change Process

Rule Submission TitleClose Rules Gap for Casebook Case 5-22 - BALL TRAVELS BETWEEN THE NET AND NET POST AFTER LANDING
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonThe casebook item addresses an interpretation of the current rule, not a gap in the rule, and should remain in the casebook. This is also an extremely rare occurrence and is best handled in the Casebook rather than loading up the rulebook with unusual scenarios.
Existing Rule #11.I.1
Proposed Rule Change

11.I. Plane of the Net. Crossing the plane of the net prior to striking the ball is a fault. After striking the ball, a player or anything the player is/was wearing or carrying may cross the plane of the net. The player may not touch any part of the net system, the opponent’s court, or the opponent while the ball is still in play.

11.I.1. Exception: If the ball bounces into a receiving player’s court with enough backspin or wind aid to cause it to return to the other side of the net (over the net or between the net and net post), the receiving player may cross the plane of the net (over, under or around the net post) to hit the ball. It is a fault if the receiving player (or anything the receiving player is wearing or carrying) crosses the plane of the net before the ball has first crossed back over the plane of the net to the opponent’s side. It is a fault if the player touches the net system, the opponent’s court, or the opponent while the ball is still in play. 

Original Rule Text

11.I. Plane of the Net. Crossing the plane of the net prior to striking the ball is a fault. After striking the ball, a player or anything the player is/was wearing or carrying may cross the plane of the net. The player may not touch any part of the net system, the opponent’s court, or the opponent while the ball is still in play.

11.I.1. Exception: If the ball bounces into a receiving player’s court with enough backspin or wind aid to cause it to return to the other side of the net, the receiving player may cross the plane of the net (over, under or around the net post) to hit the ball. It is a fault if the receiving player (or anything the receiving player is wearing or carrying) crosses the plane of the net before the ball has first crossed back over the plane of the net to the opponent’s side. It is a fault if the player touches the net system, the opponent’s court, or the opponent while the ball is still in play. 

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

This proposed rules change closes the rules gap that is addressed by Casebook Case 5-22.  If accepted, Casebook Case 5-22 can be eliminated.

Rule Book Year2024
Rule Change ID1120
Date CreatedApril 30, 2023
View Comments View Comments