LIST OF SUGGESTED PICKLEBALL RULE CHANGES FOR PREVIOUS YEARS

Rule Change Process

Rule Submission TitleRemove correct receiver as one of the allowed questions.
USAP Board VoteFailure Confirmed
USAP Rules Committee VoteFailed
USAP Rules Committee Vote ReasonThis is now irrelevant since referees correct player positions per rule change 1017.
Existing Rule #4.B.8
Proposed Rule Change

4.B.8. Before the serve occurs, any player may ask the referee for the score, who is the correct server or receiver or whether any player is in an incorrect position. A generic question such as “Am I good?” may be asked and shall be considered to encapsulate both the correct server question and the correct position question if asked by the serving team. For nonofficiated play, a player may ask the opponent the same questions and the opponent shall respond with the appropriate information

Original Rule Text

4.B.8. Before the serve occurs, any player may ask the referee for the score, who is the correct server or receiver or whether any player is in an incorrect position. A generic question such as “Am I good?” may be asked and shall be considered to encapsulate both the correct server question and the correct position question if asked by the serving team. For nonofficiated play, a player may ask the opponent the same questions and the opponent shall respond with the appropriate information

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

As described in casebook entry 1-23 in the Referee Casebook, there are scenarios where the 'Am I the correct receiver' question can cause confusion to both the players and the referee. To choose the less confusing solution, the casebook entry instructs referees to answer the question based just on the receiver's score and whether or not they are the banded player. In other words, answer the question as if they asked 'Am I in the correct position'. Now that that is the proposed way to answer that question, there is actually no need to state that a player can ask that question.

Players can still ask the question. The referee will not penalize or ignore the player. They will answer a receiver question with either 'Yes, you are in the correct position' or 'No, you are not in the correct position'.

If this change is approved, both the Casebook and the Officiating Handbook will need to be updated to reflect the new rule.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

The 'Am I the correct receiver?' question will be answered with either 'Yes, you are in the correct position' or 'No, you are not in the correct position'.

Rule Book Year2024
Rule Change ID1016
Date CreatedApril 6, 2023
View Comments View Comments