Displaying 1 - 2 of 2

 Rule Change ID Submitted From Comment
954May 15, 2023Randi

Suggested ADD Proposed Rule Change: 13.F.3. Only rally-ending line calls may be appealed. Any player may appeal a rally-ending line call to the referee before the next serve occurs

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change: In SECTION 1 – THE GAME, under The Players section (page 2 of 2023 Rulebook) it says, "Players should not question or comment on an opponent’s call, although any player may appeal a rally-ending line call to the referee before the next serve occurs. [bold & italics added]" However, there is no rule that actually says this.

Scenarios In Which the Rule Applies: Referees are commonly taught that a player cannot have "two bites of the apple" with regard to a player playing a ball and then wanting to subsequently appeal if the ball they played was "out" on an other than rally-ending shot. However, there is no rule that specifically states this. It is inferred by rule 6.D.7. All “out” calls must be made prior to the ball being hit by the opponent or before the ball becomes dead. It could be further clarified by this new rule.

954May 20, 2023Michael

Opposed to this change. (Although I wonder why the team that doesn't see the ball wouldn't just immediately ask the referee to rule.)
It is a common scenario where the hard shot goes between the two players up at the NVZ, lands OUT, but neither player could turn to see. But the ball is OUT, and if an official saw it, what does it matter if a timeout takes place before they appeal the IN ruling?

 Rule Change ID Submitted From Comment