Displaying 1 - 4 of 4

 Rule Change ID Submitted From Comment
884March 13, 2023Joey

4.L.2 and 4.L.3 contradict each other on the terminology. If we’re going to be consistent, then the proposed change to 4.L.2 SHOULD read as follows:

4.L.2. Not touch the PLAYING SURFACE OUTSIDE the imaginary extension of the centerline.

A player’s feet cannot touch anywhere on the court (as per 4.L.3), and for clarity, using the term “outside” the imaginary extension of the centerline is consistent with 4.L.1. There is no “wrong court” or “wrong side of the court” when referring to playing surface.

884March 14, 2023Michael

This rule is not consistent with tennis or table tennis, that specify that the ball must be struck inside of the service area with both feet on the ground. Pickleball the rules can be interpreted so that basically lift 1 foot when you make contact with ball while the lifted foot is actually out of the service area is completely legal. Both feet need to remain inside the service are through out the entire serve whether one is touching or not. Definition of "Service Area" can also be changed to reflect it a "Service area Plane" rather than just the ground or playing service.

884March 19, 2023Robert

I question the qualifying phrase "when the ball is struck". Does that mean that as part of the service motion a server may step inside the court (playing surface) AFTER his/her paddle contacts the ball?

884March 24, 2023Todd

The proposed wording of "4.L.2. Not touch the area court on the wrong side of the imaginary extension of the centerline." in addition to having a grammatical error can logically never occur. "Court" is specifically defined in 2A1 and 3A3 as the area inside the the outer edges of the boundary lines. There is technically no court area around the extension of the centerline.

"4.L.2. Not touch the playing surface on the wrong side of the imaginary extension of the centerline." would address this issue.

 Rule Change ID Submitted From Comment