Displaying 1 - 3 of 3

 Rule Change ID Submitted From Comment
444June 29, 2022DennisTPM

Scenario: Team A and Team B are both in a dink rally at the NVZ. Team A hits a high lob. Just as Team B is about to hit an overhead smash, Team A's coach yells, "Back up, back up!" Team B gets distracted by the yelling and mishits the ball into the net. It's not a distraction since coaching is allowed under this proposal.

Let's keep it the way it is and let the players think for themselves during a rally.

444July 14, 2022Marsha

Coaching by spectators during times other than time-outs has become more prevalent during tournaments. Many spectators do not know that coaching is only permitted during time-outs and may say something, advertently or inadvertently, during play that could coach a player. Trying to detect illegal coaching while refereeing a match distracts the referee's full attention from the play. For some court configurations, it is virtually impossible for a referee to detect conversation and communication between players and spectators. Often illegal coaching comments and signals made by spectators are not even heard or seen by the players, especially when there are crowds and noise. Even if heard or seen, it is incumbent upon the player to execute the advice for it to potentially be of any benefit. There have also been instances of spectators unscrupulously “coaching” the opponents of players they support in an effort to have a technical warning called against the opponents. In such situations, the opponents have no control or defense against such actions. Should players be penalized for unsolicited actions by spectators that neither they nor referees can prevent?

Speaking from experience in refereeing MLP events where coaching is allowed, not having to worry about coaching during play is a big relief to referees. USA Pickleball should consider allowing coaching by spectators any time the ball is not in play, provided it does not interfere with continuous play or unfairly disrupt the opposing team. Spectators who fail to abide by the coaching rules would be subject to removal from the match by the tournament director.

444July 27, 2022Tim

I understand the coaching issue but I like the idea of not allowing coaching at all. When I am competing, I feel that it is me (and my partner, if playing doubles) against my opponent(s), not of me against my opponents(s) and their coach(es) and anyopne else that feels the need to give them advice. At a minimum, coaching should only be allowed when the ball is not in play, as that can be distracting to the opponents.

 Rule Change ID Submitted From Comment