Displaying 1 - 19 of 19

 Rule Change ID Submitted From Comment
290April 9, 2022DENNIS

The reason the NVZ line is considered "out" on the serve is that it is included inside the 7 feet that comprises the NVZ. In order for this rule proposal to work the lines on all pickleball courts would need to be moved 2 inches away from the net so that none of it is included in the 7 foot NVZ.

I like this proposed rule because it would make it easier for the service receiver to call a service fault from their position. If they see a space between the ball and the line they would call a fault. Currently, if a ball lands beyond the NVZ line on a serve, the receiver could think it hit the line from his angle of view without knowing for sure, especially in singles where there is no partner at the NVZ to help call lines. The serving team might see that the ball is clearly in because they can see the space between the ball and line. But they are not supplied to question the opponent's line calls.

Nevertheless, it would be a logistical nightmare to restripe the NVZ lines of all of the courts in the world.

290April 9, 2022judy

Nope. The NVZ line is considered a fault line! It denotes foot faults and service faults. That is very consistent.

Keep the NVZ line as a “not good” line.

290April 9, 2022Darla

From a former ambassador who has taught beginner's clinics: All lines ARE in! Every single line is within the area it's defining so any ball hitting a line is "in" that area. This includes the NVZ line. The NVZ line is IN the kitchen, so it's a fault on the serve. That's exactly how I explain it to beginners. "All lines are in. This NVZ line also in -- it's in the NVZ. Since you have to *clear* the NVZ for the serve to be good, it would be a fault if the ball hits this line when you serve the ball." I've never had a single beginner not understand this or be confused by it. Now, if you're saying the following words to a beginner, yes, it would be confusing: "All lines are in, well except this one. For some stupid reason, it's out on the serve." That is not factual and is confusing.

290May 11, 2022Howard

The rationale that changing the rule to make it easier for beginners and would grow the sport is quite frankly ludicrous. I have taught hundreds of beginners and it is not difficult for them to understand it. This rule change would fundamentally change the game. This rule works as intended to make sure the serve returner has a reasonably fair opportunity to return the serve.
This rule change would also mean that the sideline surrounding the no volley zone would be in on a serve also. That brings in too much “luck” into the game. The current rule works perfectly. This rule change should be rejected.

290May 11, 2022Paul

I support this rule change, because the person making the in or out call is usually the receiver of the serve, and they are in the worst position to make this call. A ball can clear the NVZ line and land an inch or two beyond the line, in the service box. To the receiver, it will look like the ball hit the line as they will not see clear space between the ball and the line. The receiver's partner may not be watching where the ball hits and not reverse the call.

290May 17, 2022Joey

This would make it more difficult for referees to determine short serves because the new viewing angle of the referee will be opposite.

290May 28, 2022Ross

Reject this rule change. This was one of the most difficult ones to think through. This line has several purposes, for serves and foot faults and when you think about it hard you can see the conflicts pop up.

290May 31, 2022DANIEL

Keep the rule as is. It's not confusing when you understand that lines are inclusive. The NVZ includes the line and the serve must clear the NVZ. Simple.

290June 8, 2022tom

Well, there is a point to be made here. However, I've always liked this rule - for a fairly selfish reason. It's unique to pickleball. Pickleball is not tennis! It's one of our rules that separates us from tennis. I disagree with the proposed rule change.

290June 11, 2022Bill

Do not change the rule! I also work with new players and explaining that all the lines are "in". Is relatively easy to explain and to understand. The NVZ line is in the NVZ. If it hits that line on the serve its a short serve. If your foot is on that line when you volly the ball it's a fault. The center line is in both service courts and you need to pay the ball. They get it!

290June 18, 2022Michael

A couple of things on this rule, which I think is a great rules change suggestion:

1. At the time of service, the NVZ isn't in play. At the time of service, the service box is in play. The lines should reflect the service box that is in play, not the NVZ that isn't, other than you can't hit it in there. But you can't hit it out either. If a service hits a line on the service court, it's good. If it contacts the court outside the line and doesn't subsequently touch the line, then it's out. This shouldn't be any different for the baseline, sideline and middle service line, than it is for the NVZ line.

2. Back to my most despised rule in all of pickleball, "Seeing a space between the line and the ball as it bounces." According to the rules, if a person cant see a space between the line and the ball as it bounces, the ball is deemed to have touched the line and is good. So a server would not be able to see a space between the ball and the line, even if the ball were many inches out. He is then within his rights according to the rules, to determine that ball touched the line, therefore a fault.

290June 20, 2022Ron

All lines are "in" now, including the NVZ line. It is "in" the NVZ so much that we even call it the NVZ line. "in" only indicates the state of the ball but not whether it is "good" or not. If that line was good on the serve then the NVZ would only be 6'10" and we would have to change that rule plus then you would be able to step on the line during a volley!

290July 6, 2022Vokits

It's easier to remember that the non volley line is part of the non volley zone. Inverting it would lead to even more confusion.

290July 11, 2022Kevin

Leave the rule as is. Darla states the case very well. All lines are in. The "Kitchen" line is in the kitchen. It is a fault if the ball lands in the kitchen.

Failure to understand this is a failure on the part of the teacher not a failure of the student.

290July 13, 2022Darla

Thanks, Kevin. Someone above said that the receiver of the serve is the one who would make that line call determination, but I disagree. As a server, I rarely make line calls. I leave that to my partner. And *especially* on the serve, the receiver's partner is in the best position to make that call -- they are right there at the line and can see if it clears the line or not.

290July 14, 2022Tony

No rule change necessary. The NVZ line is inside the NVZ.

290July 15, 2022Sam

To echo a lot of other comments, it does not take long to teach someone that the lines are there and are part of the area they define. The NVZ line is equivalent to the baseline. The baseline is considered part of the court that it defines so hitting it means the ball landed in the court. The NVZ line is part of the NVZ that it defines so hitting it means it landed in the NVZ. Typically people get that and see the consistency.

290July 21, 2022Joey

Also touching on Michael's case... Due to the referee's angle, making the NVZ "in" would make it harder for a referee to call a short serve (which is the referee's responsibility). So, you've made the referee's job harder.

290July 27, 2022Tim

This proposed change will only reverse the confusion and make some people think that stepping on the kitchen line is OK. Do not make this change.

 Rule Change ID Submitted From Comment