Displaying 1 - 8 of 8

 Rule Change ID Submitted From Comment
1057April 29, 2023Maria

It's about time we addressed the rules around the volley serve that make it so hard (no...just about impossible) to discern unless the violation is flagrant. The 'Stop play...questionable whether' is a clumsy workaround that many Refs are still hesitant to utilize. Time for a major change.

1057May 1, 2023Brian L.

The “questionable whether” the ball contact is “above the waist” on the volley serve is a waste of time for the following reasons;
1. Depending on the number of times that the referee makes this call … all it does is extend the length of time that the match is played. Much to the annoyance of the players, TD’s and RC’s.
2. It causes too much player confusion. Generating too many follow up questions which again adds time to the match.
3. This is a not-so-subtle form of “coaching” plus the negative perception of officiating “favoritism”. Especially if the referee only calls it once on one player and not on their opponents. More so if there were no subsequent “questionable” and or “faults” called.
(
I recommend that only remove the “below the waist” criteria. It is rarely if at all called anyway as it is next to impossible to accurately determine where a players waist is. For example; a 6’5” player has an obvious waist height advantage over a 5’5” player. In addition … the higher the ball contact point is … the more “chicken wing” the arm motion becomes which minimizes any server advantage. The advantage for the referee is that it makes it easier to see if the paddle head is “above the wrist” and in an “underhanded motion”.

In tennis … the underhanded serve is still legal even at the pro level regardless of the ball contact point.

1057May 8, 2023Diahann

As a referee the 'above the waist' is the hardest part of the rule to call. The waist is arbitrary and different for each person. With clothing on the waist can be almost impossible to detect. The 'above the waist' requirement is the least called violation on the volley serve. It is much easier to see if a paddle head is above the wrist than contact above the waist.

1057May 8, 2023Leonard

This change will not clarify the spin issue. Does the rule allow sideways or top spin?
Eliminating volley serve would be better option.
Otherwise, rule should clearly say whether downwards and sideways movements of the paddle are allowed or prohibited.
I saw a note that usapickleball.org against sideways spin as it creates dangerous situations due to little space between courts in typical settings. But the rules do not reflect this.

1057May 9, 2023Leonard

This change will not clarify the spin issue. Does the rule allow sideways or top spin?
Eliminating volley serve would be better option.
Otherwise, rule should clearly say whether downwards and sideways movements of the paddle are allowed or prohibited.
I saw a note that usapickleball.org against sideways spin as it creates dangerous situations due to little space between courts in typical settings. But the rules do not reflect this.

1057May 9, 2023Leonard

This change will not clarify the spin issue. Does the rule allow sideways or top spin?
Eliminating volley serve would be better option.
Otherwise, rule should clearly say whether downwards and sideways movements of the paddle are allowed or prohibited.
I saw a note that usapickleball.org against sideways spin as it creates dangerous situations due to little space between courts in typical settings. But the rules do not reflect this.

1057May 31, 2023Marsha

I agree with the concept of this proposal. However, a more clearly defined point of reference than the waist is required to achieve the desired results. Requiring players to hit the ball at hip level would solve the problem, but that would still require judgement of exactly where a body part is.

The key is that an underhand serve must be used. Perhaps the solution is to require that the server’s arm must be moving in an OBVIOUS upward arc at the time the ball is struck with the paddle, thereby eliminating sidearm and flat-looking serves. Whether the paddle head is above the wrist or the ball is struck higher than the server's waist would be of no/negligible consequence so those service elements could be removed.

1057May 31, 2023Melody

I believe the volley serve is already well
defined in the rule book.

 Rule Change ID Submitted From Comment