Displaying 1 - 3 of 3

 Rule Change ID Submitted From Comment
1015April 22, 2023judy

Would like to see a non verbal version. For example, the server looks at the ref with questioning face or other arm/hand movements to indicate confusion. Or both players can’t figure out what to do, but don’t verbalize it. Or else give ref permission to ask if the player needs to ask a question since they are obviously confused — but that could be considered coaching. Note this happens more often in beginner level or first tournament ever players, ie., 2.5, 3.0.

1015May 6, 2023Merle

Another slight variable to this situation is if after indicating that the receiver is correct, even though they are not, the serving team then decides they are not in their correct positions and switch positions. By telling the receiver that he/she was the correct receiver, they then switch so that he/she is still the 'correct' server, which they are not. Upon the server hitting the now corrected serve, we now have an incorrect receiver fault. I personally do not like indicating to anyone incorrect information, when asked. If a receiver asks me if they are the correct receiver and I know they are not, I have a difficult time indicating to them that they are. I believe one of our tenets is to help avoid problems, and if we knowingly answer questions incorrectly, we are certainly inserting ourselves into the match in not a good way.

1015May 17, 2023Michael

This is essentially the same subject as 1016. I commented there so won't repeat here.
I am in FAVOR of amending this CASEBOOK entry to allow us to answer by saying you are in the correct position. I do not think we need to add the "but you are not the correct server".

 Rule Change ID Submitted From Comment