|Rule Submission Title||Backspin Rule Clarification|
|USAP Board Voting Status||Not voted upon|
|USAP Rules Committee Voting Status||Fail|
|IFP Voting Status||Average: 8.6 Detail:7,8,8,10,8,10,9|
|Existing Rule #||7.C|
|Proposed Rule Change|
7.C. Hitting the ball under the net or between the net and the net post, unless the ball first contacts the opponent's court.
|Original Rule Text|
7.C. Hitting the ball under the net or between the net and the net post.
|Reasoning Behind Suggested Change|
A ball that hits the opponent's court, then either spins back or is blown back towards the net and passes through the gap between the post and the net or under the net is currently a fault on the striking player. Rule 7.C should be clarified so it is not a fault.
USAP rules committee notes: This can be a casebook entry
|Rule Book Year||2022|
|Rule Change ID||169|
|Date Created||June 26, 2021|
|View Comments||View Comments|