Rule Submission TitleQuestioning an opponents call
USAP Board Voting StatusPassed
USAP Rules Committee Voting StatusPassed: Moved guidance to start of rulebook. There is a concern that any 'should' rule is not enforceable and has no penalty, so this is just guidance.
Existing Rule #6.D.5.
Proposed Rule Change

6.D.5. A player should not question nor comment on an opponent’s call, although any player may appeal a call to the referee before the next serve occurs.

Original Rule Text

6.D.5. A player should not question an opponent’s call, although any player may appeal a call to the referee before the next serve occurs.

Reasoning Behind Suggested Change

To further clarify that the opponents shouldn't comment on the opponents call whether in the form of a question or a comment. Some players have taken the language of the current rule to be literal in that they cannot ask a question such as, "Are you sure?" These players have said there's no rule against commenting, however, such as, "I saw it out.

Scenarios In Which the Rules Applies

A ball is called out but the opponent thinks the ball was in. Some players have taken the language of the current rule to be literal in that they cannot ask a question such as, "Are you sure?" These players have said there's no rule against commenting, however, such as, "I saw it out."

Rule Book Year2023
Rule Change ID268
Date CreatedNovember 1, 2021
View Comments View Comments